Congratulations to recipients of the Fields Medal and the IMU Abacus Medal!

We would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2022 Fields Medal and IMU Abacus Medal!

Hugo Duminil-Copin was awarded the Fields Medal "for solving longstanding problems in the probabilistic theory of phase transitions in statistical physics, especially in dimensions three and four."

June Huh was awarded the Fields Medal "for bringing the ideas of Hodge theory to combinatorics, the proof of the Dowling–Wilson conjecture for geometric lattices, the proof of the Heron–Rota–Welsh conjecture for matroids, the development of the theory of Lorentzian polynomials, and the proof of the strong Mason conjecture."

James Maynard was awarded the Fields Medal "for contributions to analytic number theory, which have led to major advances in the understanding of the structure of prime numbers and in Diophantine approximation."

Maryna Viazovska was awarded the Fields Medal "for the proof that the E8 lattice provides the densest packing of identical spheres in 8 dimensions, and further contributions to related extremal problems and interpolation problems in Fourier analysis."

Finally, Mark Braverman was awarded the very first IMU Abacus Medal "for his path-breaking research developing the theory of information complexity, a framework for using information theory to reason about communication protocols. His work has led to direct-sum theorems giving lower bounds on amortized communication, ingenious protocol compression methods, and new interactive communication protocols resilient to noise."


Category: HLFF Forum