Laureate Discussion

Vinton Gray Cerf, Leslie Lamport, Joseph Sifakis

A panel of laureates unpacks a topic at the intersection of mathematics and computer science with strong implications for society at large. Moderator: Vicki Hanson CEO, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

Vinton Gray Cerf
ACM A.M. Turing Award - 2004
Together with Robert E. Kahn for pioneering work on internetworking, including the design and implementation of the Internet’s basic communications protocols, TCP/IP, and for inspired leadership in networking.

Leslie Lamport
ACM A.M. Turing Award - 2013
For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of distributed and concurrent systems, notably the invention of concepts such as causality and logical clocks, safety and liveness, replicated state machines, and sequential consistency.

Joseph Sifakis
ACM A.M. Turing Award - 2007
Together with Edmund Clarke and E. Allen Emerson, for their role in developing Model Checking into a highly effective verification technology that is widely adopted in the hardware and software industries.