Press images

8th HLF 2021

Monday, September 20 – Thursday, September 23, 2021

Here is a selection of images from the program in print quality. We have chosen an overview from the lectures and other program elements. In all cases, use the following copyright for the photos: © Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation

A more comprehensive collection of HLF photos is available for download on Flickr.

Regarding requests for specific or multiple images, contact

  • Photo 1: Opening – Beate Spiegel, Chair HLFF; Anna Wienhard, Scientific Chair HLFF; Martin Lichtenthaler, Master of Ceremony; Elena Lichtenthaler, Master of Ceremony;  Hans Petter Graver, President Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (DNVA);  Bernhard Eitel, President of Heidelberg University; Carlos E. Kenig, President International Mathematical Union (IMU) (from left to right)
  • Photo 2: Avi Wigderson, Nevanlinna Prize 1994, Abel Prize 2021
  • Photo 3: Scott J. Aaronson, ACM Proze in Computing 2020
  • Photo 4: Hot Topic – Amrish Baidjoe, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF-OCB) - LuxOR Operational Research Unit; Sheetal Silal, Modelling and Simulation Hub, Africa (MASHA) - University of Cape Town; Sebastian Funk, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine; Julia Fitzner, World Health Organization (WHO); Martin Enserink, Science magazine
  • Photo 5: Laureate Discussion — Shafrira Goldwasser, ACM A.M. Turing Award 2012; David A. Patterson, ACM A.M. Turing Award 2017; Joseph Sifakis ACM A.M. Turing Award 2007; Efim Zelmanov, Fields Medal – 1994; Tarek R. Besold, Dekra Digital
  • Photo 6: Laureate Dialogue – Leslie Lamport, ACM A.M. Turing Award 2013; Whitfield Diffie, ACM A.M. Turing Award 2015
  • Photo 7: Vinton Gray Cerf, ACM A.M. Turing Award 2004
  • Photo 8: Whitfield Diffie, ACM A.M. Turing Award 2015
  • Photo 9: Digital Pub Quiz, Lewis Stannard